过敏都是来自过敏原(基因表达的改变)

芳香和气味,无论是天然的还是合成的,都会影响到我们生活的方方面面。如果香气消失,我们会发现自己过着平淡、贫乏、无维度的生活!考虑一下气味是如何为你的日常生活做出贡献,丰富你的体验——增添精神和记忆的火花。

所以,是哪里出了问题呢?

当今香料行业是依据研发活动产生的合成新的香料化学品,这些新的香料化学品来自合成资源,包括各种各样的石油化工产品,这导致了自1860年以来的行业快速增长。主流香水在幕后一直在努力降低价格,同时提高香水成分的性能,即使其更稳定、更持久。在1860年之前,香水主要是天然的,只使用天然衍生物质。即使在今天,自然香水的实践也显示出艺术和科学的微妙交织。对此,佰莉蔻填补了急需的空白,满足人们对于香水对美观、安全和自然的需求。

这种过敏的恶性循环——内分泌(激素)紊乱、接触性皮炎是如何与香水和香水联系在一起的?

香豆素1868年合成后,香料工业开始了化学工业的大循环——鉴定、分离、实验室合成、大规模合成和低成本、低价格的商业化。但是却忽略了潜在有毒化学品对人类健康和环境的影响。对此,人们并不完全理解,也没有将其作为首要考虑的因素。而香料和香水行业在没有适当法规和毒理学方法的情况下持续发展着。

在当今时代,主流香水中,香水配方可能含有数百种或更多的合成成分和天然成分。香水中使用的化学品超过5000种,其中大多数都没有经过测试或毒性完全测试。普通人群过敏研究结果中,对香水中化学品的接触过敏是最常见的。当易感个人在皮肤上接触过敏性化学物质(例如,在化妆品中的化学物质)时,会发生接触过敏。一旦发生接触性过敏(任何人都可能发生),免疫系统中就会始终存在能够识别并对过敏原作出反应的细胞。过敏症可以是一种终身疾病,包括免疫系统的特殊反应性改变和免疫细胞对香味过敏原的识别。

最好的选择是通过减少和消除对这些特定过敏原的接触,来打破过敏的恶性循环,并通过使用优质的天然护肤品来改善皮肤屏障性能。

过敏原:预半抗原、亲半抗原后、半抗原

对于大多数芳香化学物质,母体化合物通常是非常弱的过敏原。但同样的化合物可以通过氧化(预半抗原)或通过皮肤中的酶活性(亲半抗原)成为有效的敏化剂。

  • 能够通过皮肤中的酶活性激活皮肤致敏剂的化合物称为亲半抗原。
  • 预半抗原是一种可以在皮肤外部转化为半抗原的化学物质,主要是通过空气氧化。预半抗原通过称为自动氧化的自发氧化反应被激活为皮肤致敏化合物。

一旦一种蛋白或一种蛋白变成半抗原,这意味着它们可以通过与载体蛋白结合来激发机体的免疫反应。一旦半抗原附着在载体蛋白(基因)上,就会引起基因表达的改变——过敏!

26种最常见的过敏原

76/768/CEE指令(02/27/03指令2003/15/CE)或1223/2009号法规(EC)的第7次修订仅列出26种过敏性物质。这些过敏原大多是孤立的化合物,可以在天然精油中找到。请注意,分离化合物是可以从天然原料中提取或在实验室合成的单气味分子。

你可能想知道其他4000种或更多的化学物质,为什么它们没有被检测或列入过敏原列表?为什么在天然油只有这26种物质被列为过敏原?举个例子,芳樟醇是一种过敏原。薰衣草油(具有很好的舒缓性能)含有大约30%的芳樟醇。如果你在香水配方中使用薰衣草油,你不能说它是不含过敏原的。因为薰衣草油含有一种叫做芳樟醇的过敏原。但是,你可以使用其他的同样含有芳樟醇合成化学物质,而这些化学物质在没有在标签注明的情况下,是没有经过充分的毒性测试的。

如果从天然精油、植物提取物中分离出来,则母油/提取物很少会引起过敏。我们对各种香精油/提取物没有足够的科学研究,证明它们是过敏性的,但只对分离出的化合物(如D-柠檬烯)有研究,D-柠檬烯存在于柑橘油中,也存在于乳香油中。从我们的研究中发现乳香油不是过敏原。

正如前面提到的,这些分离物可以在实验室以很小的成本合成,真正的过敏循环问题就在那里,而不是在整个天然油/植物中。一汤匙纯玫瑰油可能要花300美元,但你可以用300美元/公斤的价格买到合成版的玫瑰油。

根据欧盟第1223/2009号条例,玫瑰油无论是纯的还是合成的,都含有诸如香茅醇、香叶醇等过敏原。但是,我还没有遇到对纯玫瑰油过敏的人(可能会有少数)。据我所知,纯天然油含有大量其他化合物,其中一些是有益的,有助于天然油/提取物的整体活性——大自然的化学!

综上所述,你可以想象,制作一款天然的无过敏原香水是多么的重要和有价值!这就是我们在“丛林露水”香水喷雾和“香根草”香水中所取得的结果,它们都不含过敏原。不含欧洲法规(EC)N°1223/2009中列出的所有26种过敏物质。

享受我们的发布会吧!

谢谢!

Josh Adams aka Manoj

Allergies come from Allergens (alteration of genes expression)

The fragrances and aromas, whether be natural or synthetic affect virtually all aspects of our lives. Were the fragrances and aromas to disappear, we would find ourselves living a bland, deprived and dimension-less life!  Consider how the scents and aromas contribute to your daily life and enrich the experiences – adding a spark of spirit and memory.

So, what has gone wrong?

The size of today’s fragrance industry is a result of research and development (R&D) activities that generated synthesis of new aroma-chemicals derived from synthetic resources including a vast variety from petrochemicals, resulting in rapid industry growth since 1860. Mainstream perfumery, behind the scenes, has been striving constantly to lower prices and to improve performance of perfumery ingredients, i.e. to make them more stable and last longer.  Before the year 1860 perfumery was mainly natural, using only naturally derived substances. Even today, the practice of Natural Perfumery exhibits subtle interweaving of Art & Science, and this is where Belle’Botanique fills the much-needed gap, and aims to satisfy a growing demand for aesthetically pleasing, safe and natural perfumes.

How this vicious circle of Allergies – Endocrine (Hormonal) Disruption, Contact Dermatitis got intertwined with perfumes and fragrances?

The great cycle of the chemical industry – identification, isolation, laboratory synthesis, large-scale synthesis and commercialization with lower costs and prices – had begun in perfumery and flavor industry after Coumarin was synthesized in 1868.  But to minimize or reduce the impacts of potential toxic chemicals to human health and the environment, was not fully understood and was not taken as a priority while the fragrance and perfume industry kept growing without appropriate regulations and toxicological methods in place.

In this day and age, in a mainstream perfume, a fragrance formula (‘perfume’) may contain up to several hundred or more, synthetic and natural ingredients. There Are More Than 5,000 Chemicals Are Used In Perfumery, Most Of Them Have Not Been Tested or Fully Tested For Toxicity. Contact allergies to fragrance chemicals are among the most common findings in studies of allergy in the general population. Contact allergy to fragrance ingredients (aroma-chemicals) occurs when a susceptible individual has been exposed on the skin to the allergenic chemical, for example through their presence in a cosmetic product. Once a contact allergy has been developed (can happen to anyone), cells capable of recognizing and reacting towards that allergen will always be present in the immune system. An allergy can be a life-long condition, which involves specifically altered reactivity of the immune system and recognition of the fragrance allergen(s) by immune cells.

The best option is to break the cycle of allergy development by reducing and eliminating the exposure to those specific allergens, and improving skin barrier-properties by using good quality natural skincare.

Allergens: Pre-Hapten, Pro-Hapten, Hapten

For most aroma-chemicals, the parent compound is often a very weak allergen. But the same compound can become a potent sensitizer either by oxidation (pre-hapten) or by enzymatic activity in the skin (pro-hapten).

  • Compounds that can be activated to skin sensitizers by enzymatic activity in the skin are called Pro-haptens.
  • A Pre-hapten is a chemical that can be transformed into a hapten outside the skin, mainly by air oxidation. Pre-haptens are activated to skin-sensitizing compounds via the spontaneous oxidation reaction known as autoxidation.

Once a prehaten or a prohaten turns into a hapten, this means that they can provoke an immune reaction in the body by attaching themselves to a carrier protein. Once a hapten is attached to a carrier protein (gene), that creates an alteration of gene expression -allergy!

 26 Most Commonly Known Allergens

7th amendment of Directive 76/768/CEE (directive 2003/15/CE of 02/27/03) or Regulation (EC) n°1223/2009 outlines only 26 allergenic substances. Most of these allergens are isolated compounds, which can be found in natural essential oils. Please understand that Isolated compounds are single odor molecules that can be extracted from natural raw materials or can be synthesized in a lab.

YOU MAY WONDER WHAT ABOUT OTHER 4,000 OR MORE CHEMICALS, WHY THEY HAVE NOT BEEN TESTED OR INCLUDED IN THE ALLERGEN-LIST? Why only these 26 substances are listed as allergens, which are found in natural oils. To give you an example, Linalool is an allergen. Lavender oil (soothing properties are well documented) contains approximately 30% Linalool. You get my point, if you use Lavender oil in your perfume formulation, you can not say that it is allergen-free. Because Lavender oil contains an allergen called Linalool. But, you can use other synthetic chemicals, which have not been fully tested for toxicity without declaring them on the label.

If isolated from natural essential oils, botanical extracts, the parent oil/extract is rarely allergenic. We do not have enough scientific studies on various essential oils/extracts, proving them to be allergenic, but only on the isolated compounds like d-Limonene, which is found in citrus oils and also present in Frankincense oil. From our research we do know that Frankincense oil is not an allergen.

As I mentioned that these Isolates can be synthesized in a lab at a fraction of cost, and the real problem of allergy cycle is there, not in the whole natural oil/botanical. Just one tablespoon of Pure Rose Oil may cost you $300, but you can buy Synthetic version of rose oil in $300/kg.

As per the EU Regulation 1223/2009, Rose oil whether be pure or synthetic, contains allergens such as citronellol, geraniol etc. But, I have not come across any person yet who is allergic to Pure Rose Oil (there may be a few out there). It is my understanding that pure natural oils contain a large number of other compounds, some of them beneficial, which contribute to the overall activity of that natural oil/extract – the Nature’s Chemistry!

Considering All the Above, You Can  Imagine How Important and Valuable It Is To Make A Natural Allergen-Free Perfume! And, that is what we have achieved in ‘Jungle Dew’ Eau de Parfum Spray and ‘ Amyris Vetiver’ Parfum Spray, both are allergen-free. Free from all the 26 allergenic substances listed in the European Regulation (EC) n°1223/2009.

Enjoy the Launch Party!

Thanks & Regards,

Josh Adams aka Manoj